TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowship Programme for Developing Countries 2022

Fellowship Programme for Developing Countries
Fellowship Programme for Developing Countries

TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowship Programme for Developing Countries 2022: TWAS and the National Research Foundation (NRF) of South Africa, in collaboration with the Department of Science and Technology (DST), are happy to announce the TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowship to enhance science in poor nations.

TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowships are available at South African research institutions for a maximum of three years. They are given to scientists from developing nations (other than South Africa) in order to help them pursue PhD studies in natural sciences.

Details information of TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowship Programme for Developing Countries 2022

Sponsored by : TWAS and South Africa’s National Research Foundation (NRF)

Location: South Africa

Duration: Up to 3 years

Study Level: PhD

The TWAS-NRF programme is a South African fellowship for candidates interested in science and engineering. TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowship recipients will receive Partial Cost of Study (PCS) funding, which will only cover tuition fees (R30 000 per year) and housing costs (R60 000 per year) up to a maximum of R90 000 per year per student. In addition, for TWAS-NRF PhD awardees, the NRF will cover the cheapest return economy travel as well as visa and/or study permission costs.

Eligibility Criteria Fellowship Programme for Developing Countries

Applicants for the TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowship 2022 must meet the following requirements:

  • Be citizens of developing countries on the African continent and abroad, as well as permanent residents;
  • In 2022, you must not be living, studying, or working in South Africa;
  • Applicants who have previously worked, studied for a degree, or conducted research in South Africa and have returned to their home country for fewer than two (2) years are ineligible to apply;
  • A master’s degree in a natural science discipline is required;
  • To apply for doctoral financing, you must have a minimum of 65 percent on your master’s degree;
  • Must enrol full-time at a South African public university in 2022; may be based at any South African public research institution, including HEIs, Science Councils, and National Research Facilities;
  • By the 31st of December of the year in which you apply, you must be a maximum of 32 years old.
  • All international qualifications (obtained from non-South African universities) must be examined by the South African Qualification Authority (SAQA) or the applicant’s qualifications must be submitted to SAQA for evaluation.
  • The applicant’s home country’s visa and immigration laws, as well as the laws of South Africa, must be followed.
  • Upon completion of their studies, they must return to their home country.
  • Are only permitted to do research in the fields of Science, Engineering, and Technology (SET).
  • During the fellowship period, she/he must not accept any other assignments;
  • Provide an official proof of study application and/or acceptance letter from a host South African institution, department, or laboratory, as well as a motivation letter from the potential PhD supervisor.
  • Provide a certificate of English competence (if available at the time of the application).

How to Apply

Applicants for the TWAS-NRF Doctoral Fellowship 2022 should contact South African institutions or possible supervisors to secure a spot in the programme. Applicants can then utilise the NRF Online application system to apply for a doctorate fellowship in 2022.

Application Deadline: 8 July 2022

Visit official website

Enable Notifications    OK No thanks